How magazines can use Facebook

April 22, 2009

I never used to be a fan of Facebook groups or fan pages, at least not for any useful purpose—they were so buried in the interface and there was no way to interact with members (and remind them of your presence) except by sending them messages, which in my opinion is far too in-your-face to do more than once a month or so without annoying people. But Facebook has made some recent changes that make fan pages more like personal pages. Most notably, your magazine page can now make status updates, and those updates will show up in your fans’ news feed.

A great example of a magazine making use of this is (of course) Wired:

picture-1

They have 14,913 fans as of now (maybe we can push them to 15,000), and every time they make a status update it gets tons of comments from these fans, who instantly see them in their news feeds. Facebook has (finally!) become a place to actually interact with your brands’ fans and give them updates as part of their regular stream of events.

Is your magazine using Facebook successfully? Share your tips.

6 Responses to “How magazines can use Facebook”


  1. Just a quick reply today to point out the great work that a friend has been doing in the Facebook space for Grist.org (an online-only publication). It’s called “Hot Dish,” and you can check it out here: http://apps.facebook.com/hotdish/?src=grist

    Great post. Looking forward to seeing some other examples.

    Phillip.

  2. Kat Says:

    Thanks for sharing, it looks very cool. They fail though for asking for your age, not an age range. (I’m afraid I told them I’m 98.)

  3. David Says:

    Thanks for this Kat. We’ve set up a fan page (but not publicized it yet). I have a couple of questions but can’t seem to find answers anywhere. Maybe you or a reader can enlighten me?

    1. How do we get Facebook to provide us a “short” url like Wired has? IE, they have http://www.facebook.com/wired, but ours is long and yucky.

    2. Is it possible to moderate posts (mostly Wall posts, I suppose)? I know this goes against how Facebook normally works, but ours is a youth publication and if someone (and anyone in the world would be able to post on our wall) were to post objectionable content, that could be bad. I believe we can remove posts, but can we prevent them being posted in the first place.

    Thanks!

    • Kat Says:

      Pierre, you’re so right. 🙂

      David, I’m not sure about the answers to your questions. I have a vague recollection of reading that Facebook was going to charge for the short URLs, but I don’t know that they’ve implemented that. As for moderating posts, I don’t think so – I think it’s a risk you have to take, although yes, you can delete them.


  4. At cottagelife.com, we just launched a fan page on Facebook last week. I defintely agree that a fan page is the way to go, rather than a group page. Fan page has the advantage (as Kat says) of your updates showing up in the news feeds of your fans.


  5. I am the Founder and Publisher of BIZ INDIA Magazine. I started it in 2002.

    We set up a Facebook page for BIZ INDIA in mid-June. We have a lot of interactivity – about 700 interactions per week – among the 4200 people (Fans) who joined till today, September 27th.

    We have received some business from advertisers and we are figuring out ways to
    develop additional revenue.

    It is easy to get Fans. It is also easy to get them to post comments, likes, links, photos.

    But we’re sort of muddling our way to figure
    out ROI…or more accurately ROTI (Indian bread).

    ROTI stands for : Return On Time Invested. And believe me, I have invested a LOT of time, mostly weekends and nights though.

    So I need to get my ROTI to make it all
    worth the time invested on Facebook to generate traffic and get interactivity on our BIZ INDIA site there.


Leave a Reply

