I’m sorry, I just couldn’t do it

January 12, 2009

Received a link from @kevingonsalves to an article on Tyler Brûlé’s thoughts on the future of print in Finnair’s in-flight magazine. A digital edition, and not a very sophisticated one. After *clicking through* to page 22 (really, who thinks that’s a good idea? Do we force our print readers to flip through every page to get to the article they want?), I tried to read it. Really, I did. But I failed. With the awkward scrolling, fuzzy text and accidental zooming out and in, I just couldn’t get focused enough. So yes, Tyler, I agree with you in a certain sense – if the entire web were like this, it wouldn’t be a pleasant place to read things at all.

Am I wrong?

2 Responses to “I’m sorry, I just couldn’t do it”

  1. Rachel S Says:

    I just checked out this link. In terms of the user-friendliness of this…

    If you press CTRL + T (or Apple Key + T) while in the PDF you get a navigation window that is easy to scroll through page by page. It’s a fast way to get to the page you want (so you don’t have to click through to page 22) then click on it and it will load in a few seconds.

    I agree on the awkward scrolling, but had no problems with fuzzy text and accidental zooming.


  2. I agree, those kinds of online mags are a huge turn-off. I’m so surprised you got to page 22.


Leave a Reply

